Polo Players Edition

AUG 2018

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/1005812

Contents of this Issue


Page 52 of 67

P O L O R E P O R T POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N 51 nailed two penalties while Surface missed the mark, sending Columbus to the final against WCHL. WCHL began with a handicap goal and Brooks slammed in a pair of goals. Everett converted a penalty to put Columbus on the board but Lee followed with a two-pointer to put WCHL up 5-1. With five seconds to go in the first chukker, Everett sank an incredible two-pointer to pull within two, 5-3. Lee scored early in the second, but a Penalty 1 on WCHL and a goal out of the lineup pulled Columbus back within one, 6-5. Lee added one more to end the half 7-5. In the third, Everett scored to bring Columbus back within one, 7-6, but Brooks and Lee answered back to take a three-goal lead, 9-6. Columbus wouldn't back down and Everett found the mark with a pair of goals to come within one, 9-8. Brooks put WCHL up by two, 10-8. WCHL withstood another attempt at a C o l u m b u s comeback, taking the title. Jordan Lee was tournament MVP after scoring 10 goals in two games, all from the field. Leslie Brooks' Blue Boy, who played in the second and fourth chukkers, was named Best Playing Pony. Club owner David Brooks said, "The tournament was played with the new tournament conditions. It proved to be very important to make your foul shots and accurate outside shooting was beneficial." The club kicked off its spring season with its annual Easter Baskets club tournament. Passover Plaids' Dawson Brooks, Sheana Funkhouser and Matt Hansen won the A Flight and The Peeps' Amy Dunlap, Brayden Foster and Peggy Baron-Antolin won B Flight. Later, in the Spring Has Sprung club tournament, WCHL's Leslie Brooks, Jordan Lee and Tatiana Wolf won the A Flight while Youth Development's Natalia Hernandez, Brayden Foster and Carson Tucker won B Flight. In the Derby Day Tailgate match, Orange County's Jordan Lee, Sheana Funkhouser, Tammy Havener and Brayden Foster defeated Wake County. The Summer Starter club tournament had WCHL's Banks Holcombe, David Brooks and Mark Hauser taking the win. GOLD DRAGOONS TAKES CONGRESSIONAL CUP Gold Dragoons topped six teams to take the 6-goal USPA Congressional Cup title at Wagener Polo Club in Wagener, South Carolina, on June 5 In the final, Gold Dragoons (Gary Knoll, Luis Galvan, Marcos Onetto, Meghan Burggraaf) faced Simpatico (Marty Miller, Conner Deal, Pedro Lara, Antonio Galvan). Simpatico nearly used up all its bullets in the first chukker, with Pedro Lara and Antonio Galvan combining for five goals while Marcos Onetto sunk a Penalty 2 for Gold Dragoons only tally. Onetto scored a hat trick in the second, including a Penalty 4 and 2, while Lara scored once for Simpatico, keeping Simpatico in the lead 6-4 at the half. Onetto continued to pound the goal with four in the third, including a The Summer Starter participants included teams Twice the Ice, Hickory Furniture Mart, Rocking B Saddle Shop and winners WCHL's David Brooks, Banks Holcombe and Mark Hauser. Derby Day Tailgate was won by Jordan Lee, Sheana Funkhouser, Tammy Havener and Brayden Foster. Gold Dragoons' Luis Galvan, Marcos Onetto, Meghan Burggraaf and Gary Knoll won the Congressional Cup.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - AUG 2018