Polo Players Edition

SEP 2018

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/1016123

Contents of this Issue


Page 49 of 67

P O L O R E P O R T 48 POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N Britton, nailed the goal two more times to tie the score, 10-10, forcing overtime. A shootout would determine the winner. After the first round, the teams had each scored one of three so they went to a second round. This time, the Santa Fe players missed while El Caso nailed its shots to take the win. Many members of the Easterling family supported and hosted the event. Ross' brother, Buzz, was on hand during the weekend. Four teams participated in the event, played over two days. El Caso Ranch advanced to the final after downing Cutco (Dan Faherty, Jason Briton, Benjamin Faherty, William Faherty), 16-10. Johan Felhaber couldn't be stopped, scoring all but two of his team's goals. On the other side, Santa Fe advanced over Ruben Ortiz Law Firm (Niklaus Felhaber, Robert Bruton, Barbara McCrimmon), 12-10. Nance and Brittin led Santa Fe with six goals each, while Niklaus Felhaber scored a game-high eight goals in a losing effort. In the consolation, Ruben Ortiz Law Firm tipped the scales over Cutco, 7-2. Ruben Ortiz Law Firm shut out Cutco 3-0 in the first half. Briton scored two goals for Cutco over the next two periods, while Niklaus Felhaber scored a hat trick and Bruton added one. Felhaber had a total of five goals in the afternoon. LA KARINA, PIOCHO TOP TWO CUPS IN ASPEN, CO On an emotionally-charged day, the Emma Challenge Cup final lived up to expectations in front of a packed house July 29 at Aspen Valley Polo Club in Aspen, Colorado. Argentine 9-goaler Nacho Novillo Astrada scored the winning goal with four minutes left in overtime to lead defending champion La Karina (Alejandra de la Vega, Brian Boyd, Stewart Armstrong, Nacho Novillo Astrada) to a thrilling 8-7 victory over Piocho Ranch (Grant Ganzi, Juancito Bollini, Nacho Figueras, Tom Barrack). Astrada was named Most Valuable Player after scoring a team-high four goals including the game-winner. Little Hawk, an 11-year-old mare, owned and ridden by Figueras in the fifth chukker, was Best Playing Pony. Also scoring for La Karina was de la Vega with two goals, including a clutch 30-yeard penalty conversion that gave La Karina a 7-6 lead with 3:37 left in regulation. Boyd and Armstrong each added one goal. For Piocho Ranch Ganzi added three including an incredible lofted neck shot that tied the game at 7-7 with 1:29 left in regulation. Astrada had an opportunity to win the game in regulation with a 60-yard penalty shot with 38 seconds remaining but his attempt sailed wide right. Piocho Ranch had the first opportunity to score in overtime but missed a long goal attempt. Astrada brought the ball downfield and, despite having defenders all over him near the sideboards, got the winning shot off. In the Just for the Love of It subsidiary game, Sopris Mountain Ranch (Jeff Desich, Rich Desich, Melissa Ganzi, Juan Bollini) defeated Los Amigos Red (Michael Payne, Paul Foster, Pablo Dorignac, Jonathan Gracida), 9-7. Jeff Desich, who scored a game-high five goals, was named Most Valuable Player. His brother Rich was forced to leave the game with six minutes left in the third chukker with an injury. The teams decided to play three on three for the rest of the match. After a close first half with Sopris Mountain Ranch leading 5-4, Ganzi scored and Sopris Mountain Ranch shut out Los Amigos Red for the 6-4 lead. Behind Desich's hot mallet and three goals, Sopris Mountain Ranch extended its lead to 7-4 early in the fifth chukker and maintained a two-goal advantage for the rest of the game. The previous week, La Karina (Brian Boyd, Grant Ganzi, Juancito Bollini, Lucas Lalor) won the Basalt Handicap, defeating Piocho Ranch (Marc Ganzi, Carlitos Gracida, Nacho R O C K Y M O U N T A I N La Karina's Stewart Armstrong, Nacho Novillo Astrada, Alejandra de la Vega and Brian Boyd won the Emma Challenge. La Karina's Lucas Lalor, Juancito Bollini, Grant Ganzi and Brian Boyd won the Basalt Handicap Final. CHIARO FOTO CHIARO FOTO

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - SEP 2018