Polo Players Edition

OCT 2018

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/1029347

Contents of this Issue


Page 50 of 67

P O L O R E P O R T POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N 49 Collardin), 9-7. On Aug. 26, Los Amigos came from behind to capture the Carbondale Classic over a tough Casablanca squad. Trailing by one going into the final chukker, Los Amigos (Brian Boyd, Nic Roldan, Nacho Novillo Astrada, Paul Foster) scored four goals to defeat Casablanca (Carlitos Gracida, Grant Ganzi, Stewart Armstrong, Alejandro Novillo Astrada), 11-9. Nic Roldan, who had three goals, including one in the final chukker, was MVP. Pitkin, a 6-year-old Bay mare played by Nacho Novillo Astrada and owned by Santa Rita Polo farm, was selected Best Playing Pony. Nacho Novillo Astrada of Los Amigos was awarded the Flexjet Play of the Day for his sixth chukker midfield penalty goal that found the mark. The game was close with Casablanca leading 5-4 at halftime and 8-7 after five chukkers. Los Amigos found its offensive attack, outscoring Casablanca, 4-1, in the sixth chukker with two goals from Nacho Novillo Astrada, including a midfield penalty conversion, Boyd's goal and another penalty conversion from Roldan. In the Just For The Love Of It Cup, Mandarina (Sarah Magness, Melissa Ganzi, Lucas Lalor, Juan Bollini) defeated Mountain Chevrolet (Alejandra de la Vega, Michael Payne, Marc Ganzi, Kris Kampsen), 10-8. —Sharon Robb PARROTHEADS SOAR IN JOHNSTON MEMORIAL Roni Duke's Parrotheads downed her husband's No Trees team in the final of the Skeeter Johnston Memorial, 14- 11, at Flying H Polo Club in Big Horn, Wyoming, on Aug. 4. The club continued its second half of the season with the same format that has made it a success. Generally, tournaments are played between six teams playing preliminary games on Thursday to determine the finalists. Fifth and sixth place teams play off at 11 a.m. on Sunday, third and fourth place teams play off later in the day at 1 p.m. and finalists play off in the main game at 3 p.m. Parrotheads (Roni Duke, Gonzalo Teves, Steve Krueger, Jason Crowder) gave No Trees (Paige McCabe, Frankie Bilboa, Craig Duke, Jeff Blake) a two- goal handicap to begin, and No Trees made the most of it, with Bilbao striking first to take a 3-0 lead just minutes into the match. Crowder put Parrotheads on the board to end the first, 3-1. Roni Duke sunk a Penalty 2 in the second but Bilbao had the answer. Crowder and Krueger flexed their muscles to tie the match up at 4- 4. Krueger added another in the third to break the tie but McCabe answered to knot the score once again. Teves took the reins and shot through back- to-back goals to put Parrotheads out front, 7-5. McCabe brought No Trees within one, 7-6, before the half ended. Bilboa leveled the score in the opening minutes of the fourth, but Roni Duke put Parrotheads back out front with a Penalty 2 conversion. Crowder increased the lead with a field goal. Roni Duke sunk another Penalty 2 in the fifth and Krueger and Crowder followed with goals to go up 12-7. Bilbao added one for No Trees to enter the sixth with his team trailing 12-8. Bilbao took matters into his own hands in the sixth, scoring a hat trick to bring No Trees within one. A field goal by Krueger and Roni Duke's fourth Penalty 4 dashed any hopes of a No Trees comeback. Steve Krueger was named MVP and McCabe's Cinco, a sleek 9-year-old bay mare played in the third, was Best Playing Pony. Skeeter Johnston's widow, Leslie, and their daughter Louisa presented the trophies. In the consolation Everglades Challenge, Jan Pamela (Wayne Garrison, Kelly Beal, Hector Galindo, Julian de Lusarreta) edged Sonny Hill (Curtis Pilot, Sugar Erskine, Francisco Lanusse, Stevie Orthwein), 11-10. Jan Pamela began with a three-goal handicap, which was matched by Sonny Hill in the first but a pair of Jan Pamela goals kept it on top. Jan P A C I F I C N O R T H W E S T Lexie Potamkin presents trophies to Los Amigos Red's Kris Kampsen, Alejandra de la Vega, Paul Foster and Nic Roldan. Los Amigos' Nacho Novillo Astrada, Paul Foster, Brian Boyd and Nic Roldan won the Carbondale Classic. CHIARO FOTO CHIARO FOTO

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - OCT 2018