Polo Players Edition

OCT 2018

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/1029347

Contents of this Issue


Page 55 of 67

P O L O R E P O R T 54 POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N DOVECOTE VICTORIOUS IN PETERSON MEMORIAL Dovecote defeated Maryland Rebels to take the 6-goal Fred Peterson Memorial at the Maryland Polo Club in Jarrettsville, Maryland, in mid- August. Overall, it was a rainy season with polo cancelled several times.. Dovecote was all about family as it included the husband and wife duo, Nate Berube and Liv Stringer Berube, along with Tom Huber, his son Tommy Huber and daughter Louisa Huber. The team defeated Maryland Rebels' Cindy Halle, Kelly Wells, Daymar Rosser and Jake Brown. Brown was named MVP and Tommy Huber's Hopper was Best Playing Pony. The previous month, Red Maple/MacKenzie topped a four-team roster to win the 4-goal USPA Patton Cup. In the final, Red Maple/MacKenzie (Lila Bennett, Live Stringer Berube, Nate Berube, PJ Orthwein) got the best of Goose Green Farm (Sophie Grant, Maddie Grant, Will Green, Jake Brown). PJ Orthwein was MVP and Jake Brown's sleek black Flurry was Best Playing Pony. Other teams were Maryland Rebels (Parker Pearce, Kelly Wells, Daymar Rosser, Alex Lopez) and Dovecote/West Shore (Louisa Huber, Tommy Huber, Tom Huber, Max Hempt). HAWK HILL SECURES MOORE MEMORIAL TITLE Hawk Hill crushed Barton Farm in the final of the 8-goal Eddie Moore Memorial at Mashomack Polo Club in Pine Plains, New York, on July 28. Hawk Hill (Keko Magrini, Agustin Bottaro, Dylan Rossiter, Phillip MacTaggart) and Barton Farm (Andrew Gundlach, Luciano Vasquez, Jared Sheldon, Henry Zavaleta) finished preliminary play in second place with 2- 1 records, advancing over the first place teams in the semifinals. Barton Farms had 4-goal Brandon Phillips taking Jared Sheldon's place after Sheldon injured his hand. Hawk Hill got on the board early in the first with a goal by Dylan Rossiter. Keko Magrini added another and Rossiter sunk a Penalty 4 to end the first seven minutes ahead 3-0. Barton Farms was unable to find the goal, while Magrini split the uprights and Agustin Bottaro tallied, increasing the lead to five. Barton continued to struggle while Rossiter went on a scoring spree. He sunk a penalty, then scored a pair of field goals. He finished out the chukker with another penalty conversion to put Hawk Hill ahead 9-0 at the half. Luciano Vasquez was unable to continue and was replaced by Ian MacTaggart in the second half. Brandon Phillips finally got Barton on the board with a pair of penalty conversions in the fourth, while Hawk Hill was silenced. Rossiter got those goals back in the fifth, scoring back-to-back goals from the field. Phillips sunk a Penalty 4 for an 11- 3 score going into the final period. It would take a miracle for Barton to get back in the game and it wasn't to be. Phillips scored a Penalty 2 to close the door on the 2018 Eddie Moore Memorial. Hawk Hill flew home with the 11-4 victory. Dylan Rossiter, high scorer with eight goals, was MVP, and his bay mare was Best Playing Pony. In the subsidiary Nueva Escocia Cup, Shekomeko (Guy Merison, Oli Merison, Maxi Chenaut, Tavi Usandizaga) edged Smithfield (Craig Callen, Robi Bilbao, Julio Ezcurra, John Klopp), 10-9. In the subsidiary final, Maxi Chenaut was replaced by Oski Monzon on Shekomeko. Tavi Usandizaga put Shekomeko on the board, neutralizing a one-goal handicap given to Smithfield. Julia Ezcurra added a field goal and a Penalty 2 to put Smithfield back on top and Robi Bilbao added another, closing the chukker 4-1 in favor of Smithfield. Bilbao split the uprights early in the second, but Usandizaga sunk a pair of Penalty 2s and a field goal to come within one, 5- 4. Ezcurra got in the last word to put the spread back to two, 6-4. Usandizaga N O R T H E A S T Red Maple/MacKenzie's PJ Orthwein, Nate Berube, Liv Stringer Berube and Lila Bennett won the 4-goal USPA Patton Cup. Dovecote's Nate Berube, Tommy Huber, Louisa Huber, Liv Stringer Berube and Tom Huber won the Fred Peterson Memorial.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - OCT 2018