Polo Players Edition

DEC 2018

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/1055534

Contents of this Issue


Page 49 of 67

P O L O R E P O R T 48 POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N (Kim Foy, Nicole Bankhead, Frankie Questel). The match was neck and neck with tie scores at the end of all four chukkers but Robertson came alive with two goals in the last chukker to take the win. Foy won best sportsmanship, Kyle MVP and Bankheads's pretty paint, Adam, was Best Playing Pony. The third game in B flight was Polotariat (Brenda Phillips, Laura Kingsley, Susan Harris) vs. OC Polo (Dave Schuberth, Blake Bertea, Denny Geiler, Shelley Geiler). OC Polo was able to get the better of Polotariat. Harris was best sportsman, Shelley Geiler's big grey La Perla was Best Playing Pony and Denny Geiler was match MVP. The A Flight match was a nail-biter between CPC (Chuck Stanislawski, Megan Judge, Danielle Travis) and Bush League/Apex (Virgil Kyle, Ryan Robertson, Forest Smith). In true A Flight fashion, the buzzer sounded with a tied score. A goal in the shootout by Kyle rewarded Bush League/Apex with championship honors. Travis was MVP, Robertson's Hibrow was Best Playing Pony and Stanislawski won best sportsman. The next B Flight match pitted Family Affair (Andy Schnoebelen, Ethan Bankhead, Garrett Bankhead) against CPC (David Chun, Katty Wong, Kirsten Ludwig). It was another tight game decided by shootout with Family Affair taking home the hardware. Ethan's Justino was Best Playing Pony, Chun was MVP in his debut tournament and Schnoebelen won the sportsmanship award. The final game of Day 1 featured C Flight action between Trust Me Poway (Sean Cochran, Sydney Morris, Gillian Young) and Lakeside (Abigail Purdy, Davey Kral, Ethan Bankhead). In the end, Trust Me Poway defeated Lakeside with MVP being awarded to Morris, Best Playing Pony going to Bankhead's trusty pony Togo and sportsmanship going to Purdy. Sunday morning started off with the student match between OC Polo (Mark Calayag, Sofia Chamberlain, Ella Horton) and Rancho Silverado (Brandon Nunez, Mary Linares, Dylan Smith). OC Polo was victorious over Rancho Silverado. Nunez rode Aveluz to Best Playing Pony honors (with and without a bridle), MVP honors went to Chamberlain and Best Sportsman went to Smith. Bush League/Apex's Ryan Robertson, Virgil Kyle and Forest Smith won A Flight in a shootout over CPC. OC Polo's MVP Denny Geiler, Shelley Geiler, Dave Schuberth and Blake Bertea won B Flight over Polotariat. 3M's Martin Perez, Monica Soucy and MVP Marco Meier won the final C Flight match over LA Training Center. Trust Me Poway's Gillian Young, Sean Cochran and MVP Sydney Morris won C Flight over Lakeside.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - DEC 2018