Polo Players Edition

JAN 2019

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/1064372

Contents of this Issue


Page 28 of 67

POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N 27 figure of the Golden Age of polo in the 1930s, was chosen posthumously for the Hall of Fame category. After the first World War and in his 20s, English-born Balding was invited by Robert Strawbridge, then president of the United States Polo Association, to come to America to train our boys how to play the game. He made the trip and became an instructor for the Rumson Polo Club in Rumson, New Jersey. He went on to become an internationally known star. A 10 goaler in England he was the captain of the British national team and as a 9 goaler in America he won the Junior Championship in 1928, the U.S. Open in 1935 and 1936 and the Monty Waterbury Cup in 1930 and 1935. Balding represented America winning the 1930 Hurlingham Champion Cup with the Hurricanes team and rode with the American squad against Argentina in the Cup of the Americas in 1936. Karlene Beal Garber Philip Iglehart Award Karlene, part of a legendary polo family, has created her own legacy, paving the way for a bright future for the sport. From 1997 to 2011 she chaired 11 of 14 annual charity events on behalf of the Polo Training Foundation. What began as a small gathering quickly became an international affair. It was a catalyst for major donations to the PTF. On the playing field she made history in 1999 with her all-women's BTA team with Caroline Anier, Susan Stovall and Kristy Waters joining her in defeating the entire field of 13 mixed teams in Eldorado Polo Club's (Indio, California) January 4-goal league. That season they also won the February 4-goal league and the Junior Officer's Cup. Karlene has served as PTF chairman, a USPA Governor-at-Large, an FIP ambassador and an owner of the Eldorado Polo Club. John B. Armstrong Philip Iglehart Award John B. Armstrong will be honored Daniel Gonzalez Gerald Balding

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - JAN 2019