Polo Players Edition

JAN 2019

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/1064372

Contents of this Issue


Page 59 of 67

P O L O R E P O R T 58 POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N last round had Navy against Air Force and again, Ramirez jumped out with a lone goal in first chukker. Both teams scored twice in the final chukker leaving Air Force with the win. With all teams winning one match it was net goals and then win-loss record to determine Army would advance to the final. The second match featured Marine Corps (Taylor Morris, Leigh Fulkerson, Agustin Arrayago, Anson Moore) vs. Coast Guard (Javier Maldonado, Chloe Rivas, Zubair Hamir, Tres De La Paz), Coast Guard started with a half-goal advantage, but the first chukker was all Marine Corps as Arrayago scored three goals. Morris and Arrayago scored one and Moore two while Maldonado scored Coast Guard's only goal. At the half Marines led 7-1½. The Marine Corps kept the pressure on with two more goals from the field and a Penalty 1 in their favor. The final chukker had Rivas and Fulkerson trading goals for a final score of 11-2½. Marines advanced to face Army in the final. The next day, matches were at the CTPA's Two Wishes facility. The consolation round robin featured Air Force vs Coast Guard in the first round. Air Force jumped out to a 5-1 advantage. Coast Guard redeemed itself in the next game against Navy, scoring two unanswered goals. The final round saw Air Force dominate Navy, 5½ to 2. In the final between Army and Marine Corps, Moore scored first, but Crea retaliated with back-to-back goals. Fulkerson and Morris added to the Marine's score to take back the lead. In the second, Mancebo's goal was quickly matched by the Marines. Marines led by a goal at the half. Army started the second half with a great run to goal by Stefanakis but it was matched by Moore. In the last chukker, neither team was able to score until Morris scored her second goal just shy of the horn to give Marines the 6-4 win. Army's Jack Crea was MVP; Mariposa, owned by Army's Lance Stefanakis, was Best Playing Pony; and Army's John Greening was Best Sportsman. The CTPA welcomed special guest Tina Bracey through the Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors (TAPS). Bracey bowled in the first ball to begin the game and helped present trophies. She later wrote in part, "... It was a pleasure to meet other horse- loving individuals and learn more about the classic sport of polo. ... The friendliness of Texas horse enthusiasts will always remind me that although my husband has passed away, I will always find 'family' in a stable nearby." On Nov. 17-18, the CTPA hosted the 6th annual Teddy Roosevelt tournament with six teams made up of players from Oklahoma, Dallas, Houston and San Antonio joining club players. This event was sponsored by the Texas Military Polo Club and the USPA Armed Forces Committee. Six teams represented Army, Marines, Navy, Air Force and Coast Guard. In the first round robin, Army-Black (Carter Heltzen, Taimur Zeb, John Greening, Daniel Fernandez) took care of business defeating Coast Guard (Kelly Coldiron, Steve Gilchrist, Nacho Estrada, Greg Summers), 4-½, in the first round. Marine Corps (Chris Ballarad, Leigh Fulkerson, Taylor Morris, Agustin Arrayago) beat Coast Guard, 3½-1, in the second round, while Army-Black shutout the Marines, 6-0. The second round robin had Army- Tan (Roxy Riggs-Mounter, David Crea, Tom Crea, Jack Crea) defeating Air Force (Tres De La Paz, Gal Shweiki, Javier Maldonado, Ariel Rodriguez), 3- 1½. Returning to the field, Air Force fell to Navy (Rob Cojocaru, Thomas Phelps, Wyatt Myr, Karl Hilberg), 3½-2. The last round had Navy narrowly defeating Army-Tan, 2½-2, to advance to the final against Army-Black. Due to rain, the last games were held at the ATX facility in Manor, Texas. In the consolation matches Marine Corps defeated Army-Tan, 4½-3, and Coast Guard defeated Air Force, 2½-1. In the final, Navy began with a half- goal handicap but Army-Black was first to score with a Penalty 3 conversion from Greening. The second chukker was all Army as Fernandez, Zeb and Heltzen tallied to end the half, 4-½. The teams traded Penalty 3s in the third chukker before Navy came alive in the fourth with Phelps scoring back-to- back goals and Wyatt a third. Navy was attacking again when the final horn sounded, ending the match with Army holding the half-goal lead, 5-4½. MVP honors went to John Greening, Carter Heltzen's Carli was Best Playing Pony and Karl Hilberg was Best Sportsman. The success of both tournaments was thanks in large part to supporters, including Robin Sanchez, Karl Hilberg, Julie Hilberg, Jack Crea, Holly Wood, Javier Insua, John Greening, Ariel Rodriguez and Two Wishes Ranch. u Army's Daniel Fernandez, MVP John Greening, Taimur Zeb and Carter Heltzen won the Teddy Roosevelt Tournament.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - JAN 2019