Polo Players Edition

NOV 2011

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/44977

Contents of this Issue


Page 42 of 67

MENS TEAMS SJ ESCORIHUELA GASCÓN ROBERTO SAMARÍA PABLO DORIGNAC SANTIAGO SOLARI ESTANISLAO RAMOS S A N J OR G E OP E N 21 3 6 6 6 SJ MIRALEJOS—TURISMO DE LA PROVINCIA DE BUENOS AIRES: 18 ERNESTO URIEN SANTIAGOMENDIVIL AGUSTÍN CANALE HERNÁN TASSO SJ EQUIDIET: MARTÍN SCORTICHINI 3 SILVESTRE FANELLI FEDERICO TEVES JERÓNIMO FANELLI SJ HYDRABAB CHAUGAN HORACIO HENRY SYED BASHEER ALÍ FRANCISCO BARGALLÓ SYED SHAMSHEER ALÍ SJ FLUIDOMANCHESTER: GERARDOMAZZINI ALFREDO BIGATTI PEDRO GUTIÉRREZ PABLO BARTRONS RÍO GRANDE LAMERCED: JAVIER N. ASTRADA JUAN DE EZCURRA MARTÍN OROZO MAURICIO GUILLANI SJ HALLS: JUAN SÁNCHEZ ELÍA RAÚL LAPLACETTE JULIO SAGUIER ALBERTO PIZZI 1 4 6 7 18 4 6 5 21 3 6 6 6 19 6 5 5 3 19 9 5 3 2 18 6 6 3 3 Santa María Ona clashed in the decisive match for the Pallarol's Cup. Santa María Ona seized the half-goal advantage received and increased the difference in the initial chukker. In the second period María Bellande helped guide La Ensenada, while teammate Paola Martínez showed her effectiveness in penalty execution to catch up. At the end of the fourth quarter the advantage was only half a goal for La Ensenada (7-6½). In the final seven minutes, Mumy Bellande led her girls to a clear 3-0 period to win 10-6½. JOCKEY CLUB OPEN The Jockey Club Open, which follows the San Jorge Open, usually brings together more teams than any of the Triple Crown WOMENS TEAMS LA ENSENADA AEROPUERTOS 2000 21 CAMILA ROSSI MARÍA HELENA CHÁVEZ MARÍA BELLANDE PAOLAMARTÍNEZ SANTAMARÍA ONA CATALINA BUNGE INÉS LALOR SOFÍA TAYLOR CLARA CASSINO LA VARZEA SPEED CECILIA ROSA ANNABELLEMAC NOUGHT DAVIS MARÍA LAURA GIMÉNEZ MARÍA OTTONELLO 5 1 7 8 20 6 6 4 4 18 2 5 7 4 SJ FLUIDOMANCHESTER:8 CANDELARIA LEVENE JULIETA ALLIER GUADALUPE STRADA ISABEL GARCÍA POCHELÚ SAN JORGE JOSEFINA PEREYRA SOFÍA PUCCI EMANNUELLE OUGIER EMILIAMALVICINO NAMUNCURÁ SANCOR SEGUROS: SILVANA COMMENDATTORE VERÓNICA DUIN MARÍA ALICIAMAGGIO SILVINA PEYRANO 0 1 3 4 7 0 1 3 3 3 1 0 0 2 changes that characterize this season, only four teams accepted the challenge presented at the welcoming field of the San Isidro institution, 15 miles north of Buenos Aires. The action began on Saturday, September 10, with the clash between La Dolfina and Miramar. A highlight of the tournament, a prelude to the Triple Crown, was the return of Adolfo Cambiaso's team from Cañuelas. Cambiaso has been absent since 2008 when he won the title. Adolfito was accompanied by the only name repeated on this year's La Dolfina Triple Crown line-up: the Uruguayan David Stirling. Despite a brisk wind, Cambiaso & Co. took quick advantage to go up 7-2 after 21 minutes of action. Miramar, which is gearing up for the qualifying tournament for Hurlingham and Palermo, reacted with the support of Alexander Agote, but was unable to shrink the margin at the end of the six chukkers. La Dolfina was the 14-7 winner thanks to eight goals including two penalties. A day later, from Adolfito, the other semifinal was Escorihuela Gascón and Miralejos Turismo de la Provincia de Buenos Aires battle in the final. tournaments, as many quartets take it as the last major trial before the Triple Crown begins. In fact, the 2010 edition brought together nine teams. Following the trend of played. La Irenita Arandú, the defending champion, kept the same staff that allowed them to lift the trophy 12 months earlier: Pablo Mac Donough, brothers Hilario and POLO PLAYERS EDITION 41

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - NOV 2011