Polo Players Edition

NOV 2011

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/44977

Contents of this Issue


Page 58 of 67

P OL O R E P OR T Que Sera Sera's Elise Bigelow, Jim Wright and Claus Sadlier won the Founding President's Cup. ᑠᑘᑕᑂᑀᑂᑗᑆᑓᑂᑀᑒᑂᑘᑙᑆᑗ∋ᑘᑀᑄᑠᑕ ᑄ ᑰᑣ%ᑤᑰᑰᑀᑃᑢᑱᑩᑤ!—Lyn Jason Cobb (B), Fracesca Finato (1), Manny Rodriguez (4); ᑡ!ᑧᑥᑦ#%ᑢ&ᑀᑕ ᑰ —Jim Wright (A), Megan Judge (1), Erik Wright (3); ᑓ !#ᑦ∀#ᑢ! ᑕ ᑰ —Tim Westin (B), Jessica Mignone (B), Crisanto Arriola (4); ᑑᑁᑑᑀᑕ ᑰ — Jessica Goldstein (A), Heather Lake (1), Jeffrey Scheraga (2). ᑇᑔᑠᑓᑅᑐᑓᑈᑀᑕᑗᑆᑘᑐᑅᑆᑓᑙ∋ᑘᑀᑄᑠᑕ ᑖ∃ᑤᑀᑘᑤ!ᑢᑀᑘᑤ!ᑢ—Elise Bigelow (B), Claus Sadlier (B), Jim Wright (A); ᑠᑃᑘ—Aida Jones (B), Patton Granada (B), Sinead Devine (B);ᑒᑢᑨ !ᑀᑉᑢ!!ᑧ∀—Jennifer Hahamian (B), Toby Cooper (B), Malay Chakravorty (B). OC POLO SHINES IN CARTER MEMORIAL The women of OC Polo took the title in the 6th Annual Bill Carter Memorial Tournament at the Central Coast Polo Club in San Luis Obispo, California on August 6-7. Trailers and teams rolled in a day early for the evening beach ride on Morro Bay strand. The beautiful sunset and Morro Rock was the back drop for the start to a busy polo weekend. With the addition of the beer garden and two student level games, the action started at 9 a.m. and went until 7 p.m. on both days. In total, over 100 horses and 45 players were on hand for the tournament, which also counted as points toward the Pacific Coast Arena League Awards. Up and coming students, from 10 to 60 years old who had picked up a mallet only a few months before, got their first chance at a polo tournament trophy. In the first match Central Coast Polo's Jaymie and Trista Noland and Edwin Micewski defeated HJ Construction's Mel Kurtulus, Laura Huntley and Lizzie Peck to advance to the final on Sunday. The second match had Vomsteeg Polo's Dan Lak, Paul Morisseau and Al Vomsteeg taking on another Central Coast Polo team of Jiri Pravec, Petra Teixeira and Athena Malin for the other final spot. Vomsteeg Polo got the best of the Central Coast team, advancing to the Dawn Rose, Yulia Witsek, Ben Kennedy, Devon Storbeck and Ann Terranova won Game 1 of the Founder's Challenge. final the next day. A California Polo Club team came in on the second day to play in the student consolation round robin. Construction won, while CPC's Wil Bishop was MVP, and Central Coast's Athena Malin's Sativa was Best Playing Pony. HJ The student final between Vomsteeg and Central Coast was a rematch of a game played in San Diego a month earlier where the Noland-led Central Coast team won by about 10 goals. Vomsteeg was out for revenge and got it, winning 9-5. Jaymie Noland was MVP. The -2 to 0-goal Bracket had four teams competing. Poway's Dani Woodward, Shanna Timms, and Barbara Bowers earned the first final spot after slipping OC Polo's Andy Perkins, Dave Schuberth, Kris Karp and Lauren Hansen. Martinelli's Karen Shaw, Kelly Shaw and Robyn Ramsay got the best of the French Toast Mafia's Jake Brumby, Romain Brumby Farris Scott, Greg Crosta, Max Freiberger, Aaron Schneider and Joell Dunlap won Game 2 of the Founder's Challenge. POLO PLAYERS EDITION 57

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - NOV 2011