Polo Players Edition

JUL 2018

Polo Players' Edition is the official publication of the U.S. Polo Association. Dedicated to the sport of polo, it features player profiles, game strategy, horse care, playing tips, polo club news and tournament results.

Issue link: https://polo.epubxp.com/i/996749

Contents of this Issue


Page 49 of 67

P O L O R E P O R T 48 POLO P L A Y E R S E D I T I O N conversions in the second, keeping Rocking P on top. With just 32 seconds left in the chukker Villanueva was injured and was replaced by Geronimo Obregon. Price sunk two more Penalty 3s in the third and Arellano traded goals with Luplow for Rocking P to double up Cinco's score, 6-3. Cinco fought hard to comeback, with Luplow and Middleton finding the mark, but three goals by Obregon widened the spread to 9-5. Cinco shut down Rocking P in the fifth while Orthwein scored his first goal to cut the deficit to three. The final chukker was an all-out battle with Cinco Ranch attempting a comeback and Rocking P ensuring it wouldn't happen. Obregon split the posts but Marks countered with a Penalty 3 conversion. Obregon scored again and Price followed with one of his own to put the game out of reach, 12-7, as time was slipping by. Still, Orthwein kept pushing and scored the last two goals to cut the deficit to three, 12-9 before the final horn sounded. Grayson Price was named MVP and April, a grey mare played by Obregon in the fourth period, was Best Playing Pony. Rocking P/W-S wasn't as lucky the previous month when it fell to Horsegate (Nick Stefanakis/Ariel Mancebo, Joe Wayne Barry, Shane Rice, Sloan Stefanakis), 9-7, in the final of the Officer's Cup. The finalist overcame Pegasus/Propaganda and Cinco Canyon Ranch in preliminary rounds. In the final, Shane Rice put Horsegate out front early in the first but Agustin Arellano answered. Sloan Stefanakis sunk a Penalty 2 in the second but Marcos Villanueva countered with a field goal to keep the score level at 2-all. Ariel Mancebo found the mark with goals in the third and fourth while Rocking P couldn't find the goal. Rice added two more, including a 60-yard penalty shot to jump out front 6-2. Rocking P rallied in the fifth with goals by Jenny Vargas, Arellano and Grayson Price but a single goal by Rice kept Horsegate narrowly ahead, 7-6. A Penalty 3 conversion from Price tied the score early in the sixth but Rice and Joe Wayne Barry hit the target to win the match. Rice was named MVP and Marcos Villanueva's third period bay mare, Gata, was Best Playing Pony. In 4-goal action, BCI/CW Petroleum got the best of Dunbar Capital in the final of the 4-goal Lone Star Cup final on April 29. Six teams competed for the title. BCI/CW (Chris Williams, Taylor Freeman, Cara Kennedy, Chad Bowman) gave Dunbar Capital (Nick Dunbar, Emma Tooth, Tommy Costello, Bryan Middleton) a half-goal handicap to begin and Nick Dunbar added to it with a quick goal to open the scoring. Freeman answered back for BCI/CW and Bowman added another. Bowman and Freeman gave the one-two punch again in the second but a Penalty 4 conversion by Middleton kept Dunbar in the running. Williams sunk a Penalty 2 only to be countered by a penalty conversion from Tooth. Freeman struck again in the fourth to put BCI/CW up by 2½ with time ticking away. Tooth took advantage of another penalty opportunity, sinking her second Penalty 2 to bring Dunbar within one- and-a-half. In the last seven minutes, Dunbar shot at goal four times to no avail, giving BCI/CW Petroleum the 6- 4½ win. The same four teams battled for the USPA Southwestern Circuit Players Cup. This time Dunbar Capital met Ghurka (Abby Benton, Fox Benton, Drew Luplow, Nick Cifuni) in the final. Dunbar again started with a half-goal handicap, but in a defensive battle, neither team was able to reach the goal in the first seven minutes. Ghurka was silenced in the first half, with Cifuni slipping in the team's first goal in the third. Meanwhile, Middleton took control, scoring four in a row in the second and third, putting Dunbar up 4½-1 to start the final chukker. Cifuni sailed the ball through the uprights BCI/CW Petroleum's Taylor Freeman, Cara Kennedy, Chad Bowman and Chris Williams took the Lone Star and Chili Pepper Cups. Shannon Galvin presents Dunbar Capital's Emma Tooth, Tommy Costello, Bryan Middleton and Nick Dunbar with the Players Cup trophies.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Polo Players Edition - JUL 2018